I’m all about “generics” – The truth about money wasting brand names

June 9, 2011 deargabbybeautyguru

I have always been a fan of generics for things like cough syrup and other medicines. Now I am a strong believer in generics for some of my beauty products. I recently ran out of face lotion and I am a lover of Olay Complete but since the weather has been so muggy I opted for a lighter formula for acne prone skin. I usually reach for Clean and Clear Dual Action Moisturizer, $6.49; available at drugstores. Next to the the mircale bottles (I really do love this stuff, my skin feels hydrated and oil/shine free) was the Target brand Up&Up Dual Treatment Moisturizer, about $3; available at Target stores and www.target.com. Not only is it in a similar bottle (both are pumps, which is great becuase you never waste) but I scanned the back and the ingredients are exactly the same. I just saved myself a few dollars for the exact same product. So, just think if you did this for more of your beauty products. In a year you could save hundreds… and that means more money to spend on important things… like shoes, purses and accesories!

Do you love deals? Read my review on Suave Naturals compared to Aveda.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Entry Filed under: Haircare

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Blog Stats

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Me On Twitter

On Site Search

RSS The News-Herald

Top Clicks

 
