Best Lip Balms 2011

February 18, 2011 deargabbybeautyguru

Here is a list of my all time favorite lip balms. Some have been around for years are some are newcomers and all are, I assure you, amazing.

1.) Aveda Lip Saver (aveda.com)
Everyone who knows me knows I am crazy about Aveda products. They are truly amazing. This lip balm is made with beeswax not petroleum, so it heals your lips opposed to constantly reapplying like petroleum based lip balms. It is pricey, around $8.50, but it’s well worth it. Plus the peppermint and cinnamon flavor is soothing and refreshing.

2.) C.O. Bigelow Rosebud Salve (bathandbodyworks.com)

Not only is this product amazing for lips but I love using it on my hands, feet, elbows, knees and even eyelids (I know, sounds silly but my eyelids get dry during the winter and this really helps). It has a silky smooth texture and the rose scent is very pretty and light. The best part is this stuff lasts. At around $6 I have had my tin of Rosebud Salve for over a year, and I use it often. It’s a great product, especially if you’re a winter-itchy-dry-skin-person, like me.

3.) Yves Rocher Replenishing Lip Balm with shea butter (ivesrocherusa.com)

While I was studying abroad in Italy the Yves Rocher was about a 10 minute walk from my apartment. Needless to say, I practically lived there. Not only do I love nearly everything from this store (especially the line of Mimosa scented products, currently not available in the U.S.) but this was my go-to lip balm for four months. The windy climate in Viterbo, Italy rendered my lips dry, cracked and painful. The she butter in this lip balm really helped protect and heal my lips. At around $3.00 it’s well worth the price of shipping. I just hope it’s the same formula as the one I purchased in Italy.

4.) EOS – Evolution of Smooth lip sphere (eos.com)

Now I really want to love this lip balm, but I can’t. I really, really like it, especially the fun tropical flavors and eco-friendly packaging. It is a good lip balm, but not great. I like it at a bade for lipstick because it’s light and has a wonderful fruity flavor (I have honeysuckle honeydew) but as for keeping my lips in good condition it’s “eh, okay.” I feel like I am constantly reapplying. What I do find particularly amazing is the  silly egg shaped container because, unlike other lip balms, it doesn’t twist up in my pocket and break. I recommend this balm for the summer “less dry” months. For around $4 it’s a good deal, however, I don’t recommend it for an extra-chappy-smile.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Entry Filed under: Skincare and Makeup

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. C Kennedy  |  March 30, 2011 at 4:38 am

    I’ve been using Made from Earth’s lip balm for about a decade now and I’ve always loved it. It tastes, smells, and feels great on my lips.

    I’ve tried the other variations of their lip balm such as the blueberry, spearmint, and citrus. the citrus one is a bit too feminine for me. So I’ve come back to the original vanilla flavor and I’ll probably stick with it for awhile. The cooling instantly sooths my dry lips while the beeswax and oils leave my lips feeling soft and moisturized. If you haven’t tried it yet, you should. Bottom line: There’s a reason people swear by this stuff. Give it a shot.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Blog Stats

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Me On Twitter

On Site Search

RSS The News-Herald

Top Clicks

 
